How to Delete your Facebook Account – [An Easy Guide]

How to delete your facebook account

There are lots of reasons you might want to delete your Facebook account. Perhaps, you feel insecure about your privacy online or maybe you are simply bored with the activities on the social media platform and you want to stay off. These and many more could be the reason why you want to take a break from Facebook – and you might be contemplating how to delete your Facebook account.

In this guide, we have carefully enumerated the steps on how to delete your Facebook account, as well as how to deactivate it, if what you want is to stay away for a while.

Deactivating or deleting your Facebook account – The difference

As you get ready to give yourself a break from Facebook, it is worthy to note that there are two different ways through which you can get your account offline. Either you deactivate your account or you delete it.

Firstly, let’s take a look at the deactivating option: when you deactivate your account on Facebook, the following happens:

  • Your timeline will be hidden automatically from the audience.
  • No one will be able to search for you on Facebook.
  • You will have access to the Messenger platform
  • Sent messages will still be visible to others
  • Lastly, you can reactivate your profile anytime you want and Facebook will restore your account information such as friends and interests.

The second option is to delete your account on Facebook. This option will erase your data completely from the platform. However, Facebook offers a 90 days grace period to recover the account. This is what happens when you delete your account on Facebook:

  • Unlike the deactivating option, your account will be erased completely from the platform with no option to reactivate it.
  • After deletion, a grace period of 90 days will be offered to you. Perhaps you change your mind within this period and log in, the deletion order will be canceled.
  • During the 90 days waiting period, your account will be invisible on the Facebook platform.

See also: The New Facebook Dating Feature

Alright, having explained the difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account. Now, it is time to dive into the steps on how to delete your Facebook account. But, let’s begin with the deactivation process.

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account

Step 1: Click on the down pointed arrow located at the top right side of your Facebook page.

How to deactivate Facebook account

Step 2: From the drop-down menu, select ‘settings’

Step 3: Look carefully on the column and click ‘Your Facebook Information’

Facebook Account Deactivation

Step 4: From the options presented, select Deactivation and Deletion.

Step 5: Click on ‘Continue to Deactivation’ and follow the prompt that may appear.

How to Reactivate your Facebook account

Unlike the long but easy deactivation process, the reactivation process is much easier. All you need to do is go online and log in to Facebook using your account login details and your account will be restored and reactivated.

How to Delete Your Facebook Account

To permanently delete your Facebook account follow the simple steps below.

Step 1: Just like the deactivation process, click on the Down pointed arrow located on the top right of your Facebook page.

Step 2: On the next page, click on the link tagged ‘Your Facebook Information’ located in the column on the left side of the page.

Step 3: Next, click on ‘Deactivation and Deletion’

Step 4: Ignore the option for Deactivation and Select ‘Permanently Delete Account’ by clicking on the small circle preceding the option.

How to delete your facebook account guide

Step 5: Click on the tab labeled Continue to Account Deletion as shown in the image above.

Step 6: Finally, provide your password, click continue and click on Delete Account

How to Cancel your account deletion

Perhaps, you change your mind later. Facebook offers a grace period of 30 days for you to retrieve your account and save it from being permanently deleted. All you need to do is to log in within these 30days and click on Cancel Deletion. Once you cancel the deletion, all your data will be restored. However, after the 30 days, your account cannot be retrieved again, though, it may take Facebook about 60 days more to have all your data deleted from their system.

For more information visit the Facebook help center

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *